April 14, 2024

PBA: Mark Barroca, Japeth Aguilar banner All-Star teams in Bacolod

PBA: Mark Barroca, Japeth Aguilar banner All-Star teams in Bacolod
Mark Barroca (right) and Japeth Aguilar (left) top the voting results to become the captain of their respective teams in the PBA All-Star. Photo (c) PBA

Mark Barroca and Japeth Aguilar will headline their respective teams in the upcoming PBA-All Star after garnering the most number of votes from fans.

The mid-season spectacle will be held in Bacolod this March.

Magnolia guard Barroca and Brgy. Ginebra big man Aguilar wound up first and second, respectively, as they topped 22 others in the fan-voting to earn the captaincy in their designated squads.

They will choose the members of their own teams from among the players they bested as well as five others who were voted by the host city, and the coaches and media.

The list includes Scottie Thompson, Christian Standhardinger, Jamie Malonzo and Maverick Ahanmisi from crowd favorite Gin Kings and recent PBA Commissioner's Cup foes June Mar Fajardo and CJ Perez of San Miguel, and Calvin Abueva and Paul Lee of Magnolia, who all made it to the Top 10.

Also selected by supporters are TNT’s Calvin Oftana and Jayson Castro, Ginebra's Stanley Pringle and Nards Pinto, Meralco's Chris Newsome, the Hotshots' Jio Jalalon and Ian Sangalang, Beermen Terrence Romeo and Marcio Lassiter, NorthPort’s Arvin Tolentino, NLEX’s Robert Bolick, Phoenix's Ricci Rivero, Terrafirma’s Juami Tiongson, and Rain or Shine’s Gabe Norwood.

Meanwhile, Negros Occidental native James Yap, who recently signed a deal with Blackwater, will also take part in the festivities after getting the Bacolod vote.

[RELATED STORY: James Yap bids farewell to iconic no. 18 jersey as new chapter with Blackwater unfolds]

Also joining the other stars by virtue of coaches and media votes are Fuelmasters Jason Perkins and Tyler Tio, San Miguel’s Don Trollano, and the Bolts' Cliff Hodge.

Ginebra mentor Tim Cone and San Miguel tactician Jorge Gallent will be the All-Star coaches.

Mark Barroca and Japeth Aguilar banner this year's 2024 PBA Bacolod All Star!

Find out the rest of the ??s who will join in the festivities together with Coach Tim Cone and Coach Jorge Gallent! #PBAAngatAngLaban #PBABacolodAllStar2024 pic.twitter.com/nTxMvdWdXd

Meanwhile, Converge’s Keith Zaldivar emerged as the top vote-getter in the Rookies, Sophomores and Juniors category.

Joining him are Elastopainters Andrei Caracut, Keith Datu, Shaun Ildefonso, Adrian Nocum, Gian Mamuyac, Santi Santillan, and Anton Asistio, Magnolia’s Jerrick Ahanmisi and James Laput, Batang Pier's John Amores and Fran Yu, Terrafirma’s Javi Gomez de Liano and Stephen Holt, Converge’s Justin Arana, San Miguel’s Kyt Jimenez, NLEX’s Bradon Ganuelas-Rosser, Ginebra’s Ralph Cu, the Bossing's RK Ilagan, and Tropang Giga's Kim Aurin.

Making the selection via the coaches and media nods were NorthPort’s Joshua Munzon and JM Calma, Phoenix’s Ken Tuffin, and the FiberXers' Alec Stockton.

Get to know this year's 2024 PBA Bacolod All Star up and coming stars!

Here are your Rookies, Sophomores and Juniors! #PBAAngatAngLaban #PBABacolodAllStar2024 pic.twitter.com/9xAId8lyVX

— PBA (@pbaconnect) February 21, 2024