March 02, 2024

PBA Draft recap: A few risers and fallers as teams maximize 124-deep talent pool to fill needs

PBA Draft recap: A few risers and fallers as teams maximize 124-deep talent pool to fill needs
Butler University | UAAP

Stephen Holt, a coveted talent and veteran of pro basketball from various parts of the world, is ready to take his NBL and NBA G League experience to the PBA by becoming the first overall pick in the Season 48 PBA Draft, going to the Terrafirma Dyip. 

The Blackwater Bossing, meanwhile, surprised some fans by taking Christian David, a prospect out of the US NCAA Division I team Butler Bulldogs. David, however, has been high on the pundits' lists. Coach Yeng Guiao's Rain or Shine Elasto Painters stuck to its plans of selecting size, taking UAAP Season 85 Mythical Team member Luis Villegas and Chico State alumnus Keith Datu with their third and fourth picks.  

UP FIghting Maroons selected Zavier Lucero went fifth to NorthPort in a dip compared to some forecasts, but perhaps no bigger fall was seen in the first round compared to La Salle Green Archer Schonny Winston, who went to the Converge FiberXers at the ninth pick. 

Shooter Kenneth Tuffin, who has played in the UAAP and New Zealand, went to the Phoenix Super LPG Fuel Masters in the sixth pick. Richie Rodger was selected next by the NLEX Road Warriors, while Brandon Bates fills in Meralco Bolts' need for size. 

Another UAAP talent in former Ateneo Blue Eagle BJ Andrade joins Winston in Converge's first round hauls. Cade Flores and Taylor James, two of the risers in the draft, round out the first round, going to NorthPort Batang Pier and Terrafirma, respectively. 

A total of 79 names were called in this year's draft. See below for a recap of the rest of the picks: 

First round 

1st Stephen Holt Terrafirma 
2nd  Christian David Blackwater 
3rd  Luis VillegasRain or Shine 
4th Keith DatuRain or Shine
5th Zavier LuceroNorthPort  
6th Kenneth Tuffin Phoenix
7th Richie Rodger NLEX
8th Brandon Bates  Meralco 
9th Schonny Winston Converge
10th  BJ AndradeConverge 
11th Cade Flores NorthPort 
12th  Taylor James Miller Terrafirma

Second round 

13th  Kemark CariñoTerrafirma 
14th Bryan SantosConverge
15th Henry GalinatoRain or Shine 
16th Raffy VeranoPhoenix
17th Ricci RiveroPhoenix
18th  Enoch ValdezNLEX
19th  JL Delos SantosConverge 
20th  James Kwekuteye Blackwater 
21st  JM Nermal NLEX
22nd  Mark Sangalang Terrafirma
23rd  Ralph CuGinebra
24th  Adrian NocumRain or Shine 

Third round 

25th JB Bahio Terrafirma 
26th  Clifford Jopia Blackwater 
27th  Sherwin Concepcion Rain or Shine 
28th  Matthew Daves Phoenix
29th  Brent ParaisoNorthPort 
30th  Dominick FajardoNLEX
31st  Inand FornilosConverge 
32nd  Jolo Mendoza Meralco 
33rd Patrick Maagdenberg Magnolia 
34th Kim AurinGinebra 
35th John Troy MallillinSan Miguel 


Fourth round

36th Tommy OlivarioTerrafirma 
37th  Archie Concepcion Blackwater 
38th  JC CullarRain or Shine 
39th  John Lloyd Clemente Phoenix 
40th Fran YuNorthPort 
41st Francis GuissaniNLEX
42nd  King Caralipio Converge 
43rd Zach HuangMeralco 
44th Rey Anthony PeraltaMagnolia 
45th Franz AbudaGinebra 
46th Jayson ApolonioSan Miguel 


Fifth round 

47thDamie Cuntapay Terrafirma 
48thDariel James Bayla Blackwater 
49thLarry Aripa Jr. Rain or Shine 
50thDaniel Atienza Phoenix 
51stJohn AmoresNorthPort 
52nd Lorenzo Navarro NLEX
53rdRhinwil Yambing Converge 
54th Jessie Sumoda Jr.Meralco 

55th Warren Bonifacio Magnolia 
56th Brandrey BienesGinebra 
57thIchie Altamirano San Miguel


Sixth round (other teams passed)

58th Kenneth Villapando Terrafirma 
59thJoe Gomez de Liaño Phoenix 
60thJan Sobrevega NorthPort 
61stKamron Vigan Converge 
62nd Shean Jackson Meralco 
63rdChristian Buñag Magnolia 
64th John Gob IISan Miguel 


Seventh round

65th Jeric James PidoTerrafirma 
Theo Joshua Flores Phoenix 
Ian Herrera NorthPort 
Raymond Binuya Converge 
Jayvee dela CruzSan Miguel 


Eighth round 

Enrique Caunan Jr. Terrafirma 
Johnnel Bauzon NorthPort 
MJ GarciaConverge
73rd Jamel RamosSan Miguel


Ninth round 

74th Jomari Lacastesantos NorthPort
75th Andree FloresConverge 
76th Kyt JimenezSan Miguel 


10th round 

77th  Nikko ParanadaNorthPort 
78th Jonathan del RosarioConverge 


11th round

79th  Regie Basibas NorthPort