June 25, 2024

Mika De Guzman repeats as women's champion in 2024 Philippine Badminton Open

Mika De Guzman repeats as women
Mika De Guzman is the women's singles champion of the 2024 Philippine Badminton Open.
Mika De Guzman completed an undefeated run to defend her women's singles title in the 2024 Philippine Badminton Open, fending off the challenge of Ysabel Amora, 21-11, 14-21, 21-8, on Tuesday at the Gameville Ball Park in Mandaluyong City.


The 2023 APACS Kazakhstan International Series champion had to regroup after losing the second set to secure her second consecutive championship in this Philippine Super 500 tournament, sponsored by Smart, Mizuno, the Philippine Sports Commission, and the MVP Sports Foundation.


"Nagpapasalamat lang rin ako sa coaches ko, sila coach Joper (Escueta), coach Kenneth (Monterubio), coach Ariel (Magnaye), at coach Kennie (Asuncion-Robles), kasi they helped me a lot at malaking factor nila na mapalakas 'yung mental at physical preparation ko in this (tournament)," said the incoming fourth-year student-athlete at Ateneo De Manila University.


De Guzman expressed her pride in her hard-earned victory, saying, "I'm really happy that I won again in this PBO. I would like to thank Sir MVP for supporting the national team and to our coaches who helped us get the wins."


On the other hand, Jelo Albo, also of Smash Pilipinas, took down the tournament's surprise in Clarence Villaflor of Cadiz-JBA/Apacs in the men's singles final, 21-13, 21-9, of this competition also sponsored by Jollibee, Chowking, and the First Pacific Leadership Academy.


"Tuwang-tuwa ako sa performance ko kasi kagabi pa lang minindset ko kung ano 'yung mga dapat kong gawin ngayong araw na to,” said the 20-year-old incoming third-year student at University of the Philippines.


“’Yung game plan ko lang na tulad kahapon na huwag patagalin 'yung laro. Gumising ako kaagad dito kanina na excited maglaro at para kunin 'yong championship na 'to," he added.


This week-long event, sponsored by Maynilad, MWell, and Cignal, also saw Lea Inlayo and Nicole Albo defend their women's doubles title, defeating UP's Kimberly Lao and Patricia De Dios, 21-12, 21-7, in the day's curtain-raiser.


The men's doubles title went to Ariel Magnaye and Christian Bernardo after reigning champions Solomon Padiz Jr. and Julius Villabrille retired, with Padiz Jr. nursing an abdominal injury.


Magnaye and Bernardo clinched the throne, 22-20, 15-21, 20-17, after an intense battle.


Bernardo capped his tournament with two titles, as he and Alyssa Leonardo won the mixed doubles event, defeating Villabrille and Albo, 21-19, 19-21, 21-14, in the final.


Winners in the singles categories received P100,000 for the champion, P50,000 for the runner-up, and P15,000 for the third- and fourth-placers.


In the doubles tournaments, champions took home P120,000, runners-up P60,000, and third- and fourth-placers P30,000 each.